Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee Click Here for the University of Tennessee home page

Office of the University Registrar

Frequently Used Tools:

Transfer Articulation

There are three types of Transfer Agreements: Course Equivalencies, Articulation Agreements and Tennessee Transfer Pathways. Course equivalencies are college level non-remedial courses that will transfer into the University of Tennessee, Knoxville from specific institutions. Articulation agreements are programs setup with nearby two-year colleges and University of Tennessee, Knoxville. While at the two-year college, students take a restricted curriculum that leads to the associate degree, as well as, preparing students for the corresponding baccalaureate degree at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Currently, the University of Tennessee, Knoxville has articulation agreements with six institutions in Tennessee. Tennessee Transfer Pathways are programs developed between institutions in the University of Tennessee and Tennessee Board of Regents systems. While at the originating institution, students take a specified curriculum that usually leads to the Associate of Arts or the Associate of Science degree and also prepares students for the corresponding baccalaureate degree. Students who complete a Tennessee Transfer Pathway will be given priority consideration for admission. However, the admission process is still competitive and still holistic. Completion of a Tennessee Transfer Pathway is not a guarantee of admission to the University of Tennessee, Knoxville (UTK) or to a specific program.

The University of Tennessee will accept transfer credit of similar content from any two- or four-year accredited institutions, normally institutions with regional accreditation status in the United States. Coursework that leads to the Applied Science degree from Career/Technical programs is not transferable. Students from non-US colleges or universities should consult the transfer evaluators in the Office of the University Registrar for transfer eligibility.

Transfer Credit Policy (PLEASE READ FIRST)

Transfer Credit: Study Abroad Policy

Military Transfer Credit Policy

NOTE: Transfer Course Equivalencies
change frequently as courses are deleted
or course content changes.

Transfer Course Equivalencies - Tennessee Colleges

Chattanooga State Community College
Cleveland State Community College
Columbia State Community College
Dyersburg State Community College
Jackson State Community College
Motlow State Community College
Nashville State Community College
Northeast State Community College
Pellissippi State Community College
Roane State Community College
Southwest Tennessee Community College
Volunteer State Community College
Walters State Community College

Transfer Course Equivalencies - Tennessee Universities

Austin Peay State University
Belmont University
Bethel University
Carson-Newman University
East Tennessee State University
Hiwassee College
Maryville College
Middle Tennessee State University
South College
Tennessee State University
Tennessee Technological University
Tusculum College
University of Memphis
University of Tennessee - Chattanooga
University of Tennessee - Martin
Vanderbilt University

More Higher Education Institutions to come.

Other States

Transfer Articulation Agreements

    • (Expiring December 2016)

Please read the Transfer Articulation Agreement Policy first. (Note: Articulation Agreements first noted in the 1992-1993 Undergraduate Catalog.)



Back to Top












Contact Information